Date Night

Everything worth having in life takes effort. A lot of effort. Whether it’s that dream house you’ve spent 25 years saving for, or that coveted position at the company you’ve been striving to attain for a decade: it takes work.

So why is it that people slack off when it comes to working at one of the fundamental building blocks of our society: marriage? Unfortunately, we put so much effort into every other facet of our lives, be it our children, careers, homes and social lives, we end up leaving only crumbs for our partners. More and more research is finding that this is a fundamental mistake that can have far reaching effects on spouses, their careers, families, and most importantly, their children.

Just ask any father who wakes up at the break of dawn to provide for his family, arriving at home barely in time for dinner and too exhausted to string more than a few customary greetings together before grabbing the remote and zoning off. Likewise, the mother of two, who somehow manages to perform at her job, only to come home and hold down the fort there ,who can’t wait for the kids to go to bed so she can follow.

One way to rekindle the spark and bring couples closer together both emotionally as well as physically is to have regularly scheduled date nights. Although this sounds cliché, it’s being touted by physicians and relationship experts alike as a marriage savior.

The premise is simple: When you and your partner clear your schedule and your minds and focus only on one another, you’re improving communication, the foundation of any solid relationship. According to studies conducted by the National Marriage Project, date nights can have a positive effect on a relationship by rekindling five crucial elements in a relationship:

1 – Communication: improved communication equals improved emotional intimacy and trust

2 – Novelty: date nights break the routine that couples have become accustomed to and give them something to look forward to

3 – Eros: physical manifestation of romantic love tends to fall by the wayside the longer a couple is together

4 – Commitment: the more time spent together the more a couple tends to view itself as one; which ensures that each partner puts his/her spouse first and results in less infidelity

5 – De-Stress: stress is one of the biggest threats to any relationship, particularly when it manifests itself in anger, resentment or solitude. Date nights provide the opportunity to focus only on the positive aspects of your life and relationship.

It’s a simple principle, the more time you spend cultivating your relationship and allotting time for intimacy, the stronger your marriage will be. The stronger the marriage, the happier you, and everybody around you, will be. A Survey by Marital Generosity showed that couples that spent more time together reported more satisfaction in their marriage, while another Survey by the National Survey of Families and Households reports that the likelihood of divorce was indirectly proportional to the amount of couple-time spent. Couples who rarely spent time together were more likely to divorce within the next five years, as opposed to couples who spent some time together every day. Spouses who spent a lot of couple even reported better communication, commitment and sexual satisfaction than couples who rarely spent time together.

Once you leave the clutter and chaos behind and make your partner your priority, the rest should be easy. It doesn’t have to be at a fancy, costly restaurant, or even something extravagant. As long as you take the time out of your week to focus on the person you chose to spend the rest of your life with. Remind yourself why you chose this person, reminisce, laugh, leave all stress behind, and look forward to culminating the night with passion.

The moral of the story? Call a baby-sitter, clear your schedules and enjoy your date night!

This article expresses the opinion of the writer and do not necessarily reflect the opinion of Karaz

Comments

comments

موعد غرامي

كل شيء يستحق وله قيمة في حياتنا يتطلب الجهد، الكثير من الجهد، إن كان منزل أحلامك الذي ادخرت من أجله على مدار 25 سنة أو وظيفة بالعمل كنت تطمع فيها على مدار العشر سنوات، كلها تحتاج لجهد وعمل.

لماذا يتقاعس الناس في العمل عندما يتعلق الموضوع في واحدة من الحجارة الأساسية لمجتمعنا: الزواج؟ للأسف نحن نولي الاهتمام ونبذل الجهد في العديد من الأمور الحياتية ونتغاضى عن وجه أساسي منها، سواء إن كان اهتمامنا بأطفالنا، وببيوتنا، ووظائفنا، تاركين الفتات من هذا الاهتمام لشركائنا. نتائج البحث المستمرة أن هذا الخطأ هو خطأ جوهري ذو آثار بعيدة المدى على الأزواج وأعمالهم وعائلتهم، والأهم من ذلك على أبنائهم.

اسألوا أي أب من الذين يستيقظون من الفجر ليعود إلى المنزل بالكاد في وقت العشاء لإعالة عائلته ، فيكون منهك ومتعب لدرجة أنه يلقي بعض التحيات المعتادة فقط على أفراد عائلته قبل أن ينطلق في الاستيلاء على جهاز التحكم عن بعد ليتم بعدها تقسيم المناطق بين أفراد الأسرة. وبالمثل إذا كانت السيدة أم لطفلين وبطريقة ما تتمكن من أداء وظيفتها في العمل، تصل الى المنزل فقط من أجل البعض من الراحة بانتظار أولادها ليخلدوا الى النوم حتى تستطيع هي الاستمرار.

واحدة من الطرق التي من خلالها تستطيع المحافظة على الشرارة بين الأزواج وإبقائهم قريبين من بعضهم البعض عاطفياً وجسدياً هي من خلال تحديد موعد غرامي محدد. بغض النظر أن هذا الاقتراح يبدو مبتذل إلا أنه تم وصفه من قبل الأطباء والمختصين في العلاقات الزوجية، إنه اقتراح منقذ للحياة الزوجية.

الفرضية بسيطة: عندما تفرغ نفسك ووقتك وبرنامجك أنت وشريكك للتركيز على بعضكما البعض، فإنك تحسن التواصل فيما بينكما، وهو الأساس في علاقتكما. بناءً على دراسات سابقة أجراها المشروع الوطني للزواج فأن المواعيد الغرامية لها نتائج إيجابية في العلاقة بين الأزواج من خلال إحيائها خمسة عناصر حاسمة في العلاقة:

التواصل: تحسن التواصل بين الأزواج يساوي تحسن الحياة العاطفية الحميمة والثقة بينهما.

التجديد: المواعيد الغرامية بين الأزواج تكسر الروتين الذي تعودا عليه وإعطائهما شيء للانتظار من أجله.

إيروس (إله الحب): كلما مر وقت أطول لبقاء الزوجين معاً تميل المظاهر المادية من الحب الرومنسي بالانخفاض.

الالتزام: كلما امضى الزوجان وقت سوياً يميلان لاعتبار نفسيهما شخص واحد، بالتالي يؤكد على أن الزوج يضع شريكه في أولوياته، مما يقلل من احتمالية الخيانة الزوجية.

التخلص من التوتر: التوتر هو واحد من أكبر المهددات التي من الممكن أن تواجهها العلاقات، خاصة إذا انعكس هذا التوتر من خلال الغضب أو الاستياء أو العزلة. المواعيد الغرامية تساعد الأزواج على التركيز فقط على الجوانب الإيجابية من حياتك بشكل عام وعلاقتك بشكلخاص .

إنه لمبدأ بسيط، كل ما خصصت وقت اكثر من أجل صقل علاقتك وخصصت أوقات حميمة مع الشريك كلما كان زواجك أقوى.كلما كان زواجك أقوى كلما كنت سعيداً أكثر، بالإضافة إلى كل الأشخاص المجاورين لك. أوضح مسح أجرته الكرم الزوجية أن الأزواج الذين يقضون أوقات أطول مع بعضهم البعض ابلغو باكتفاء اعلى من زواجهم، بينما أجرى المسح الوطني للأسر وسكان البيوت مسح تبين من خلاله أن احتمال الطلاق يتناسب بشكل غير مباشر مع كمية الوقت الذي يمضيه الزوجان معاً. الزوجان الذين ما قل أن امضيا وقت سوياً كانا اكثر عرضة للطلاق خلال الخمس سنوات القادمة، بعكس الأزواج الذين يمضون أوقات سوياً بشكل يومي. الأزواج الذين يمضون أوقات أطول سوياً ذكروا أن التواصل والالتزام والإشباع الجنسي لديهم أعلى من الأزواج الذين نادراً ما يقضيان الوقت سوياً.

بمجرد تركك الضجة والفوضى خلفك وإعطاء الأولوية لشريكك، البقية يجب أن تكون سهلة. ليس من الضروري أن تذهبوا لمطعم فاخر أو مكلف أو مفرط، لطالما فرغت وقت من أسبوعك للتركيز على الشخص الذي اخترته ليكون شريك حياتك. ذكر نفسك باستمرار سبب اختيارك لهذا الشخص، واستغرق في ذكرياتك، واضحك، واترك الضغط خلفك، وانظر إلى الأمام لتصل ذروة الشغف في ليلتك مع الشريك.

العبرة من القصة؟ اتصل بحاضنة الأطفال، وفرغ برنامجك لتستمتع بليلة موعدك الغرامي مع شريكك!

هذه المقالة تعبر عن رأي الكاتب ولا تعكس بالضرورة رأي كرز

التعقيبات

تعقيبات