5 Marriage Myths You Should Know About

It is well known that marriage can be hard work. It requires a great deal of care and effort from both sides. Every couple wishes to have a harmonious relationship with minimal conflicts. Marriages function properly with the right amount of romance, peace, love, sex. There are a lot of marriage myths that cause a lot of couples problems.

marriage myths

What some couples do not know, however, is that there are many misconceptions about marriage that might just be the cause behind the inability to communicate or to function as a married couple. Karaz’s Shadi lists five marriage myths you probably thought were true.

1- A Great Marriage Relies on Similar Ways of Thinking

It’s always nice to have someone who gets you and understands your needs. That said, you will never see things exactly the way that your partner does since you both are genetically and psychologically different. Thinking alike does not solve your problems – men and women think and behave differently, and obscuring your contrasting viewpoints can be dangerous. Your partner must enrich your life – not reflect it. It’s okay to be different.

2- A Great Marriage has Nothing to Do with Sex

Sex plays an important role in relationships, it gives you the chance to relieve stress and escape from your life problems for a brief moment, and it enforces the feelings of intimacy and closeness that you have with your partner. Couples that do not have a sex life usually rank its importance as high as 90% in the relationship. Do not think of sex as merely an act that you perform in the bedroom – intimacy through kissing, hugging, and holding hands fulfills your sex life as well.

3- Marriages Require a Great Amount of Romance

People sometimes fall for the illusion that they’re in some Hollywood romance movie. While your marriage should include lots of romance, you still have to remember that being in love is different than falling in love. Falling in love is only the first stage of love, and you will eventually move on from that stage. You need to learn how to continue to the next stages of love when the initial wild feelings fade away.

4- A Good Marriage Requires The Same Exact Interests

There is no problem with your marriage if you don’t exactly the same interests and activities! You will still find things that you enjoy together. Forcing your partner to participate in your activities will cause tension, stress and arguments. Instead, find common ground. Take up something new together. Find something that interests the both of you.

5- A Great Marriage is a Peaceful One

People seem to forget that even the healthiest couples argue sometimes. Do not be afraid of arguing or see it as a sign of weakness. If done right, arguing can release tension and plant feelings of relief and trust knowing that you can vent without feeling vulnerable or humiliated. Instead of worrying about how much you argue think about how you argue – remember not to personally attack your partner in your arguments and do not seek arguments just for the fact that it’s “stimulating”. Make your arguments healthy and constructive and do not avoid achieving emotional closure at the end of your conflict.

What myths did you find to be untrue?

This article expresses the opinion of the writer and do not necessarily reflect the opinion of Karaz

Comments

comments

معتقدات خاطئة عن الزواج

من المعروف أن الزواج يتطلب جهدا لإنجاحه، ويحتاج قدرا كبيرا من الاهتمام من كلا الطرفين. يحلم كل المتزوجين بأن يحظوا بعلاقة متجانسة بعيدا عن المشاكل والخلافات. لكن هناك معتقدات خاطئة عن الزواج الراسخة بعقلهم التي تسبب هذه المشاكل.

ما لا يعرفه غالبية الأزواج أن الكثير من المعتقدات الخاطئة قد تعايشوا معها والتي ربما اكتسبوها عبر سنين زواجهم، او عن طريق نصائح “فاشلة” وقاتله لعلاقتهم من أشخاص من محيطهم في مشورة عابرة، والتي قد تكون السبب في عدم قدرتهم على التواصل أو التعايش معا كشركاء. يزودنا شادي كرز بخمسة معتقدات خاطئة عن الزواج والتي ربما كنتم تؤمنون بصحتها.

الزواج الصحي يتطلب أسلوب تفكير متشابه

من الجميل أن تجدوا شريكا يفهم عليكم ما تقولونه دون الحاجة لشرحه، لكن في الواقع، من غير الممكن أن تجدوا أحدا لديه نفس تفكيركم، إذ لكل فرد صفاته الجينية والعقلية المختلفة. وحتى إن تشابه أسلوب التفكير بين المتزوجين، فهذا لا يعني أنهم لن يواجهوا المشاكل، فلكل من الرجل والمرأة أسلوب تعامل وتفكير مختلف، وقد يؤدي تجاهل اختلاف وجهات النظر إلى نتائج غير محمودة، فعلى الشريك أن يغني حياتكم، لا أن يعكسها، فلا بأس بقليل من الاختلاف.

الزواج الناجح لا يعتمد على الجنس 

يلعب الجنس دورا كبيرا في نجاح العلاقة الزوجية، فهو يعطي الفرصة للتخلص من التوتر، والهرب من مشاكل الحياة لوهلة من الزمن، إضافة لذلك، فإنه يعزز المشاعر والحميمية بين المتزوجين. يرى المتزوجون الذين يعيشون حياة خالية من الجنس أن علاقتهم الزوجية تعتمد بنسبة 90% على ذلك. من الخاطئ أن تعتقدوا أن الجنس عو عملية تقومون بها في غرفة النوم فقط، فمن المهم أن تكون حياتكم مليئة بالتقبيل، الاحتضان، الحميمية، وممارسة الحب.

الزواج يتطلب قدرا كبيرا من الرومنسية

يغرق الكثير من الأزواج بوهم الرومنسية الموجودة في أفلام هوليوود، لكن في الحقيقة، وبالرغم من ضرورة وجود بعض من الرومانسية في العلاقة، إلا أن هناك فرقا كبيرا بين الحب والوقوع في الحب. فالوقوع في الحب هو المرحلة الأولى من علاقة الغرام، وفي النهاية سيتحول هذا إلى حب، لكن ما عليكم فعله هو إبقاء شعلة الحب متقدة بالرغم من تجاوزكم مرحلة الوقوع في الحب.

الزواج الجيد يتطلب اهتمامات متشابهة

لا يوجد أي مشكلة في الزواج إن اختلفت اهتمامات الزوجين، فمن المؤكد أنكم ستجدون نشاطا يعجب كليكما. من الممكن أن يؤدي إجبار نصفكم الآخر على ممارسة نشاطات لا يحبها إلى خلق نوع من التوتر في العلاقة، ولهذا، عليكم أن تجدوا نشاطا تستمعون كليكما بفعله.

الزواج القوي خال من المشاكل

قد يرى بعض المتزوجين أن الزواج كي يكون صحيا عليه أن يخلو من المجادلات والمشاكل، لكن هذا اعتقاد خاطئ، فحتى أكثر العلاقات صحة لا تخلو من المشاكل. لذلك، لا تخافوا من الدخول في جدال وتعتقدون أنه دليل على ضعف العلاقة، لأنه إن تمت معالجة المشاكل بطريقة صحية، سيقل التوتر بين المتزوجين. لذلك، بدلا من أن تقلقوا من جدالكم، عليكم أن تفكرا في أسلوب جدالكم، وطريقتكم في حل المشاكل، ولا تتجنبوا التحدث عن مشاعركم بعد نهاية الخلاف.

ما المعتقدات الأخرى المتعلقة بالزواج والتي ترون أنها قد تكون خاطئة؟

هذه المقالة تعبر عن رأي الكاتب ولا تعكس بالضرورة رأي كرز

التعقيبات

تعقيبات